Gloria Cavanaugh Award for ExcellenceDr. Rhonda J.V. Montgomery Receives the 2016 Gloria Cavanaugh Award for Excellence in Training and Education at the 2016 Aging in America Conference in Washington DC

The prestigious Gloria Cavanaugh Award for Excellence in Training and Education is presented to an individual who has demonstrated continued excellence in training and education in the field of aging. Recipients have made significant and long-term contributions to the field, and create visibility for exemplary training and educational efforts.


Rosalynn Carter Leadership in Caregiving Award:

The 2010 Rosalynn Carter Leadership in Caregiving Award was given to the Washington Association of Area Agencies on Aging (W4A), along with partners Rhonda Montgomery and the Washington Department of Social and Health Services. The Leadership in Caregiving Award is the highest award given in the caregiving field and was presented at the Rosalynn Carter Institute (RCI) National Caregiving Summit in Americus, Georgia. The award, sponsored by RCI and Johnson and Johnson, recognizes leadership in implementing innovative partnerships between community organizations and caregiving researchers that bridge the gap between science and practice.

Roy Walker, Executive Director of the Olympic Area Agency on Aging and Chair of W4A, accepted on behalf of the Association. He noted that, “As the representative of the 13 Area Agencies on Aging in Washington State, I am humbled and honored to receive this prestigious award. I am very proud of the work we have done to support our family caregivers, the true heroes of our communities. Implementing the evidence-based TCARE® protocol has enabled us to support caregivers with the right interventions at the right time.”

In early 2010 all of the 13 Area Agencies on Aging representing every county in the state began implementing TCARE®.

Mrs. Carter presented the winners with both a statuette designed by Frank Eliscu (creator of the Heisman Trophy) and a check for $20,000.

» Read Full Article

Tailored Care Receives Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Superior Service Award

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee TCARE Team and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service military program’s Wounded Warrior Project has received a Superior Service Award in the team category.

The Superior Service Award is given to individuals or teams who demonstrate exceptional performance or provide exceptional service to AgriLife Extension, an educational outreach agency of the Texas A&M University System.

The award was presented at the AgriLife Conference on the Texas A&M University campus.

AgriLife Extension members of the Wounded Warrior Project team include Donna Martin, program director; Vernon Davis, program coordinator; Rachel Brauner, AgriLife Extension associate; and Lynne Piippo, program assistant. From the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, members include Rhonda Montgomery, professor and principal investigator, Jessica Jacobs, program director and Mary Brintnall-Peterson, consultant.

“One of Wisconsin’s Most Interesting Brainstorms”

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel named TCARE® one of Wisconsin’s Most Interesting Brainstorms for 2012.

» Read Full Article